How To Get An Interview Pt. 1

With being on the hunt for a co-op this summer in Toronto for my business program, there has been one thing that I have really noticed, especially coming from a small town, is how many companies use software that scans through applicants resumes picking out key words and only picking out a small amount of applicants that have a higher percentage of the key words that the hiring department chose for the specified job. I know that with the amount of applications that these companies receive for one job is way more than any hiring department could handle, especially in the short amount of time that they are given to hire an individual for the job.

choose-candidate

Companies use these software systems to also cut down on hiring costs, but what could these systems miss causing them to loose the perfect candidate?

We have started to see companies integrate new systems that ask questions and even asks how the applicant would deal with a problem that an employee in that position would deal with in a weekly basis. This is to find the correct applicant for the job by using a prescreened interview type scenario, using a question list to help the hiring team find an applicant that they are looking based on their personality and their train of thought. This is how some companies are bridging the gap in finding the right candidate for the job, fixing the key terms software.

With applicants finding ways to beat the key terms that companies use for finding the right candidate they are finding new ways to fix the system. Many people have made good money from selling books and advice on how to beat companies systems to get an interview for a job.

Ethics word cloud glowing

It is too bad that companies can’t go back to the old way of interviewing each applicant, and most companies don’t like to accept resumes from headhunters unless they hired the headhunters.

Thankfully with more and more companies using LinkedIn we are seeing a new way to get companies to know you, and see who is passionate about their work. I have found LinkedIn to be an essential asset for any individual who is looking for a job. You want to increase people coming to your profile, and want to connect with people over LinkedIn. There are great articles out there that explain the do’s and don’ts of LinkedIn and in the next few weeks I will be summing up these articles to bring you my followers some beneficial information.

22 thoughts on “How To Get An Interview Pt. 1

  1. This is very attention-grabbing, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to searching for extra of your excellent post.

    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

  2. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who was conducting a little research on this.
    And he in fact ordered me lunch simply because I found it for
    him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this topic here on your web page.

    • Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a
      team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community
      in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work
      on. You have done a wonderful job!

  3. I tend not to leave a comment, but I looked at a few of the
    remarks here How To Get An Interview Pt. 1 | Business|Marketing|Ideas.

    I do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Could it be simply me or do some of the responses look as
    if they are coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing at other sites, I would like to keep up with you.
    Would you make a list of every one of all your social
    networking pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  4. Hi, I do think this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I
    will revisit yet again since i have saved as a favorite
    it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and
    continue to help other people.

  5. I blog requently and I truly thank you for your information. This article has really peaked
    my interest. I’m going to take a note of your blog
    and keep checking for new information about once
    per week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

  6. Awesomе blog! Do you have any tips аnd hіnts for aspiring
    writers? I’m planning to staгt mƴ own website
    soon but I’m a little lost on everytɦіng. Would yօu advise staqrting with a free platform like Worԁpress or go for a paid option?
    Tɦerte are so many choices out there thɑt I’m totally confused ..
    Any tips? Apprecijate it!

Leave a Reply

